Aboriginal Outreach Workers help to Close the Gap.

In the last couple of years, we have seen quite a few new positions being rolled out through the Government policy of  Closing the Gap in life expectancy, particularly with the implementation of the Indigenous Chronic Disease Package (ICDP). 

Under the  ICDP we have seen one position rolled out into the Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Sector (ACCHS) which is the Aboriginal Outreach Worker (AOW).

The AOWs position has been implemented nationally with the key purpose of the role being to facilitate and assist with the patient journey throughout the health sector.

NACCHO has seen the current allocation to 54 member services, with the anticipation that there will be a further roll out in 2012 – 2013 to ACCHS.

 Please find below a list of member services where you will find AOWs allocated.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Health Service Brisbane
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Health Service Mackay
Aboriginal Medical Service of Western Sydney Cooperative Ltd
 Albury Wodonga Aboriginal Health Service
 Armajun Aboriginal Health Services (auspiced by Bulgar Ngaru)
 Anyinginyi Congress Aboriginal Corporation
 Apunipima Cape York Health Council
 Awabakal Newcastle Aboriginal Cooperative Ltd
 Bidgerdii Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders Corporation Community Health Service
 Bulgarr Ngaru Medical Aboriginal Corporation
 Carbal Medical Centre (Darling Downs Shared Association Incorporated)
 Central Australia Aboriginal Congress Limited
 Charleville Western Area Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Corporation for Health
 Comealla Health Aboriginal Corporation
 Dandenong & District Aboriginal Cooperative
 Danila Dilba Health Service
 Derbal Yerrigan Health Service
 Derby Aboriginal Health Service
 Geraldton Regional Aboriginal Medical Service
 Gippsland and East Gippsland Cooperative
 Griffith Aboriginal Medical Service Inc
 Gurriny Yealamucka Health Service Aboriginal Corporation
 Illawarra Aboriginal Medical Service
 Kalwun Health Service
 Kambu Medical Centre
 Katherine West Regional Health Board
 Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Service Council – Beagle Bay
 Mawarnkarra Health Service Aboriginal Corp
 Mildura Aboriginal Cooperative
 Miwatj Health Aboriginal Corporation
 Ngaanyatjarra Health Service
 Nhulundu Wooribah Indigenous Health Organisation
 Nunkuwarrin Yunti of SA
 Orange Aboriginal Health Service
 Pangula Mannamurna
 Pika Wiya Health Service (auspiced by Country Health SA)
 Puntukurnu Aboriginal Medical Service
 Ramahyuck District Aboriginal Cooperative
 Riverina Medical and Dental Aboriginal Corporation
 Rumbalara Aboriginal Cooperative Limited
 South Coast  Medical Service Aboriginal Corp
 South West Aboriginal Medical Service
 Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre Inc
 Tharawal Aboriginal Corporation
 Thubbo Aboriginal Medical Service Cooperative
 Townsville Aboriginal and Islanders Health Services Limited
 Umoona Tjutagku Health Service
 Walgett Aboriginal Medical Service Cooperative
 Werin Medical Centre (Auspiced by Biripi Aboriginal Corporation )
 Western Suburbs Indigenous Gathering Place (Werribee site)
 Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health Service
 Wuchopperen Health Service Limited
 Yerin Aboriginal Health Services Inc (Eleanor Duncan)
 Yura Yungi Aboriginal Medical Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *